There is a big confusion about Kosher Gelatin which is now used very
extensively in yogurts, Sour Cream, Cottage cheese and Ice Cream.
There are four type of kosher gelatin in the food products but none
of them meet the Islamic dietary requirements and they are not considered Halal.
Different kosher certifying organizations have different beliefs. For example kosher organization with symbols:
1. OU, CRC, V, Kuf K do not consider pork gelatin as a kosher gelatin.
2. K, KO accept pork gelatin as a kosher product.
Gelatin is a derived water soluble protein made by controlled
hydrolytic conversion of collagen, the protein constituent of white
fibrous connective tissue from animals.
Gelatin is obtained from one of the following:
* Beef bones and calf skin (Gelatin type B) or
* Skin, hide splits and trimming of pork (Gelatin type A)
SOME GELATIN PRODUCTS:
* Gelatin in Jell-o Gelatin products is made from pork and
considered kosher by a Rabbi who certify these products with a kosher
symbol K. These products are Haram (NOT HALAL).
* Kosher gelatin is also obtained from non-kosher slaughtered
cattle bones and skin in China, which is certified by a Rabbi in
Florida. This gelatin is used in majority of Dannon Yogurts with the
* exception of Dannon's Premium Low Fat Plain, Premium Non Fat Plain and Natural Plain with UD kosher symbol, they do not contain any gelatin and considered as Halal
* Kosher gelatin is also made from pork source and listed as
kosher gelatin in some products with kosher symbol KO. These products
are Haram (NOT HALAL).
* The Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregation of America certifies a Kosher gelatin, which is made from cattle. These cattle are slaughtered according Jewish laws a Rabbi. This kosher gelatin is used in Entenmann's Frosted Toaster Pastries with kosher symbol UD. Many Islamic Scholars do not accept kosher meat as the meat of Ahle-Kitab
because a Rabbi do not announce the name of Allah and other
prayers on each animals. He announces the name of Allah on first and
Only fish gelatin and gelatin made from the bones and skins of Halal
animals slaughtered according to Islamic Sharia is considered Halal.
Gelatin is also obtained from fish. The fish gelatin is now used in many food products.
Fish gelatin is used in Procter &Gamble's Sunny Delight fruit drinks. It is combined with Beta carotene a plant based color as a processing
aid ingredient (not reported under the ingredients list) to help
disperse the Beta carotene in liquid system. Gelatin from zabiha slaughtered cows is considered Halal.
Halal gelatin from cow is now manufactured in India, Pakistan and Malaysia.